Update: Chair of AFCW PLC/AFC Wimbledon

The boards of the Dons Trust and AFCW PLC have asked Mick Buckley to continue in his role as AFC Wimbledon Chair.

Mick, a lifelong Wimbledon fan, was appointed to the role of chair of the football club in November 2022 for a period of twelve months. He was also appointed to the role of AFCW PLC chair in January 2023. Prior to this he had served at the request of previous Dons Trust boards in various Non – Exec..

The Dons Trust AFC Wimbledon Club OwnersSeptember Board Meeting Summary

Wednesday 13 September’s board meeting was planned to have been a formal meeting of the board. However, because of the recent changes to the board, specifically the departure of Kris Stewart (see statement), the formal section of the meeting was only to discuss and agree the filling of the casual vacancy left by Kris’s departure (according to rule 64 of the constitution).

Once this decision was made there then followed a series of discussions on different matters with no further..

James MacdonaldNew DT AFCW PLC rep appointed

The Dons Trust Board has agreed to appoint James Macdonald as its third director on the board of AFCW PLC, following the departure of Kris Stewart.

He will be the third board rep and will sit alongside new DT Chair, Michele Little, and new Vice-Chair, Graeme Price.

Read more about the Dons Trust Board, its composition and role.

The Dons Trust AFC Wimbledon Club OwnersDons Trust Update

Kris Stewart to depart from Dons Trust Board to help out at AFC Wimbledon

Departure sees several other changes to key personnel

The AFCW PLC board has asked Kris to help out temporarily at AFC Wimbledon while the recruitment process for a new MD gets under way.

To ensure good governance and avoid any confusion over roles and responsibilities, Kris has immediately stepped down as a director both of The Dons Trust and all AFC Wimbledon group companies, including AFCW..

Consultation about level of ownership of AFCW: FAQs

As part of the process of consultation concerning the level of ownership of AFC Wimbledon by The Dons Trust, we have compiled an FAQ.

If you have any further questions, please email consultation@thedonstrust.org 

Q: What is the purpose of this consultation?

A: We want to have a more detailed conversation about the management of debt than our normal processes (SGMs, AGMs, online, matchday) allow. Democratic ownership of the club isn’t just about an event – e.g. putting a series..

The Dons Trust AFC Wimbledon Club Owners14 June Dons Trust Board meeting

The latest Dons Trust board meeting was at Plough Lane. Kevin Rye wasn’t able to be there in person and so dialled in. All other board members were present. 

The board signed off the minutes for May for publication. These are now in the Board Minutes section on the website. 

Actions completed 

Dons Draw – recent new publicity has brought in some welcome additional subscribers.  Agreement reached on AFC Wimbledon Women games at Plough Lane (see DT website for statement). ..

Mick BuckleyDons Trust board appoints Mick Buckley as AFC Wimbledon Chair

The boards of the Dons Trust and AFCW PLC are pleased to announce that Mick Buckley has agreed to take on the role of AFC Wimbledon Chair, for a period of one year, at the conclusion of his current interim role.

Mick has been serving as chair of the football club on an interim basis since the departure of CEO Joe Palmer, having been a director of variously the Dons Trust, the football club and AFCW PLC over the..

The Dons Trust AFC Wimbledon Club OwnersChanges to AFC Wimbledon PLC

Following a Dons Trust Board meeting ahead of the turn of the year, and further to the results of the recent DTB election, the board has acted to update its representation on the AFC Wimbledon PLC board.With Jane Lonsdale and Ed Leek having stepped down from the DTB, and with Hannah Kitcher standing down from the PLC, Kris Stewart, Freddie Flaxman and Michele Little have been appointed to the PLC. This will require ratification by the membership at the next..

The Dons Trust AFC Wimbledon Club OwnersThe new Dons Trust Board has made its first decisions and appointments

Co-Chair Xavier Wiggins, Vice-Chair Charlie Talbot and Board member Hannah Kitcher, will join Ed Leek and Jane Lonsdale on the AFCW plc board. They will sit on that board with Joe Palmer, Mick Buckley and Iain McNay.

Ed Leek will join Luke Mackenzie and Joe Palmer as the directors of TWIOF, the legal entity which owns Plough Lane.

Co-Chairs Xavier Wiggins and Jane Lonsdale said:

“We are grateful to board members for their time in meetings and set-up..

AFCW PLC AGM & Dons Trust SGM on 19 MARCH

The AFCW PLC AGM will go ahead but the Dons Trust SGM is postponed.

In view of the COVID-19 pandemic, the suspension of football matches and the EFL’s instruction to clubs to suspend fan meetings and other non-essential business, the boards of the Dons Trust and AFCW PLC have been discussing whether to proceed with the Dons Trust SGM and AFCW PLC AGM scheduled for 19 March.

The two boards have agreed to postpone the Dons Trust SGM but to..